About UBA | Research

Scientific research and technological development are two of the main pillars of the University of Buenos Aires.
The Secretary of Science and Technology works on the scientific and technological transfer and the identification and promotion for entrepreneurship activities within the University.
The transfer of knowledge, a priority for UBA, occurs broadly through different channels including the training of graduates and researchers, publications, and formal and informal ties with other public and private organizations.
In this way, UBA seeks that the knowledge generated in the field of the University reaches society in the form of products, service and input for other institutions.
The Secretary of Science and Technology administers the main funding tiers for research (grants and subsidies) and manages the Sistema de Bibliotecas e Información (SISBI) - Library and Information System, the Interdisciplinary Programs (PIUBAS for its acronym in Spanish) and more than 60 Research Institutes


    The University of Buenos Aires has 61 research institutes which encourage and develop research activities in different scientific fields, train researchers and engage in  technology transfer, hence promoting interdisciplinary activities. These institutes establish bonds with businesses, the State  and NGOs with the aim of solving specific problems. 
    There are 17 Institutes of Scientific, Humanistic and Technological Development Research and 44 Institutes in a strategic alliance with the Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnica -National Council of Scientific and Technical Investigations-.

    List of institutes


    The  Secretary of Science and Technology coordinates several initiatives of interdisciplinary research with social impact

    Information about the programs


    The Library and Information System works in the organization, development, preservation and dissemination of new knowledge produced at the University through the creation of digital and electronic collections of its own.
    The core of the system is formed by the Central Library of the 13 schools of the University and the Libraries of Colegio Nacional de Buenos Aires, Escuela Superior de Comercio Carlos Pellegrini, CBC, Hospital de Clinicas “José de San Martín” and the General Coordination and an additional core composed of more than 60 libraries of institutes, centres, departments and laboratories.
    The collective catalogue of the University of Buenos Aires allows, from a single and central platform, searching and locating documents that the university owns and makes available to users.
    The institutional digital repository of the University of Buenos Aires includes the intellectual and academic catalogue of the university in all disciplines and collects, records, disseminates, preserves and provides access to all the knowledge generated at the university. In this way, a specialized search service of scientific and academic information is available on any subject facilitating the work of teaching, research and study. The repository has 5251 postgraduate theses (doctorate and masters) and includes the intellectual and academic production of the university in all its disciplines.